All Things Moto! Web Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Web Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > 2-Stroke Dirt Bike Forums > 2-Stroke Dirt Bikes - Honda

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2007, 07:50 PM
Beginner Class

Default 98, Cr 250 idle, HELP!!!

I am sure this question has been asked a thousand times, so please direct me if needed. I bought a 98 CR 250 last week and I am a total rookie with respect to a 2 stroke bike. Today I rode with my son, he on his 50cc me on the 250. We had a blast ripping up Garandma and Grandpa's farm, all was great until we did some trail riding where I was destin to 1 and 2 gears. The idle on my 250 is up and down constantly (rev... rev... rev..) you get the idea. This of course makes trail riding very unpleseant, if not darn right worthless. If I crank the throttle she barks and stretches the arms (runs great), but once back to idle I get the rev... rev... rev... again. It doesn't seem to happen (as bad) when the engine is cold, but has become intolerable once the engine is warm. Is this normal for this engine? Is it a carb adjustment? Do I need a rebuild? HELP PLEASE!!!!
Old 06-18-2007, 08:00 PM
Beginner Class

Default Re: 98, Cr 250 idle, HELP!!!