All Things Moto! Web Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Web Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > 2-Stroke Dirt Bike Forums > 2-Stroke Dirt Bikes - Honda

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Welcome To ATM

Exclamation '86 CR125 project bike - Engine rebuild

Hi Everyone!

I'm Navin from Sweden, I'm new to ATM and i joined the forum after I bought my first ever cross bike. Its a 1986 CR125 engine in a 1984 CR125 chassis. Bought it for dirt cheap and looking to mess around with the bike for a bit.
I might probably build a road racing or drag bike from it once its in good shape just for kicks :smirk:
I am a bit of a motorhead and i have a Clymer Manual so the future for the engine looks pretty bright

These are my observations for now :

As expected the RH outer case is heavily corroded and the previous owner has pasted the water pump cover all over with epoxy. The pump seems to run well but the tranny oil was milky. Need to fix that.

Are the radiators for this bike exclusively for it? or can i swap them with a newer sleek one from a 2011 125 4 stroke? I am not going to be doing hard riding and i hope the radiator doesn't have any thermostat or other essential components on it.

The ATAC system had been disconnected and there was no butterfly valve:shocked: No wonder the bike was lousy when i tried test riding it. Can i seal off the chamber and use it with the stock exhaust? And i'm planning to make a custom exhaust for a wide top range. So can i remove the ATAC manifold and connet a custom pipe directly? And i dont want to spend on a exhaust design software, so any help from you guys to design the chamber will be appreciated.

The carb seems to be OK but the slider has faint wear marks on it. I'll go for an upgrade once the engine is in full order. I'm doing away with the stock filter so i can change the intake manifold along with a new carb.. What are my choices for upgrade?

So as of now, The parts i need to buy are:
Piston kit
Full gasket kit