All Things Moto! Web Forums

All Things Moto! Web Forums (http://www.allthingsmoto.com/forums/)
-   2-Stroke Dirt Bikes - Yamaha (http://www.allthingsmoto.com/forums/f-30/)
-   -   2002 YZ250 a lot of smoke and smells burnt? (http://www.allthingsmoto.com/forums/f-30/2002-yz250-lot-smoke-smells-burnt-59050/)

CyxRyan 11-08-2012 10:58 PM

2002 YZ250 a lot of smoke and smells burnt?

I'm new to riding and new to this site so please no hate! I was riding today down my dirt road and the bike sounded great! "no bogging". I stayed 3rd gear only because the road was freshly graveled and the day before my front tire kept slipping so I didn't want to go to fast and end up falling so I took it easy this time! =D On my way back I was in 3rd revving it and going full throttle for a couple seconds "3-4 seconds" at a time.

Once I got to my drive way I noticed the smell of something burning so I looked behind me and noticed a ton of white smoke "more then usual" coming out of my exhaust. I drove my bike up my drive way in 1st gear then shut it off. I noticed there was still a little smoke coming out of my exhaust. I looked around and didn't see any leaks so I figured it was nothing. After about 10 minutes I tried to start my bike and it would not start about 5-7 kicks I would say, usually starts up in 1-2 kicks.

I did noticed when I tried to start it would start up and die quickly after so I assumed it could be the plug? I started it while giving it a little gas and it stayed on so I got on it and rode it up and down my drive way a couple times and everything seemed fine "no heavy white smoke". After I was done I shut it off and it started right up no problem. I took the spark plug out and it was black and dry. <-- "good or bad?"

I am currently running 32:1 "Klotz" and Motul 10W-30 which I put in 2 weeks ago and has about an hour or 2 on it. If anyone knows what the problem could be or might know I would more then greatly appreciated.

lankydoug 11-08-2012 11:41 PM