All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums > Dirt Bike Knowledge Base and Build Threads > Dirt Bike Restorations and Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2016, 03:53 PM
Beginner Class

Default CRF 2009 af 1989 cr250 Build part 1

Hi guys,
I have had a look through the site and there are plenty of impressive builds on here. Thought id share where im up to with my 2009 af cr 250 build.
so its another af build with cr 250 1989 motor.

let me know what you think

I Bought the crf 250 complete bike for $1500 off gumtree (auz version of craigslist)

Was pretty rough when i got it, front forks were rock hard n not very well looked after. Got a new set of plastics and graphics, suspension re sprung n valved, top end done, n heap of little things done to it.

Got a new yoshi pipe for it,

rode it twice then this happened think the new top end made the bottom end let go..

Had a go at rebuilding it all myself (I am a builder not a mechanic)

So finally got it all back together and running. yesss

only got another 10 or so rides out of it and something let go in the motor so i couldnt bring myself to spend another $1000 on another rebuild kit. I pulled the motor and parted what i could. Was so over four strokes, and realised for the money i had spent on this bike by this point i could have bought a pretty decent ktm to start with. But i couldn't bring myself to sell it as a roller and lose on everything that i had done to the bike already. The suspension cost me a bit over a grand alone so i figured i would keep it and make the most of a bad situation.

Last edited by nrb188; 09-08-2016 at 12:34 AM. Reason: photos were not working..
Old 09-07-2016, 03:57 PM
Beginner Class