All Things Moto! Web Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Web Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > 4-Stroke Dirt Bike Bike Forums > 4-Stroke Dirt Bikes - Honda

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2008, 07:46 AM
Beginner Class

Default XR600 Help please!!!!

I own a 1986 XR600 which I use mostly for trail riding, however it does not get much use. Last weekend about an hour or so into my ride I noticed it began to backfire at approximately 1/4 throttle. I normally ride two strokes and my buddy told me that some backfiring is normal for fourstrokes. (Whether this is true or not I don't know) It was running great up until that point. I parked it and let it cool off for a bit then started it up hoping that the problem mysteriously went away, but it didn't. I then began to troubleshoot. My first guess was a problem with the jetting, so I took both carburetors off and disassembled them. In doing this I found that one of the jets (I believe it was the main jet, sorry I am still new to the repairing side of bikes) was clogged with a tiny speck of dirt / sand. I blew it out with compressed air then proceeded to clean as much of the carbs as I could with carb cleaner and let them soak. I was optimistic that I had fixed the problem. Monday I put everything back together only to find that I did not. It still starts no problem and the first 1/4 turn of the throttle rocks, but after that it backfires continuously until I let the throttle back. An ideas? Could it be something with the valves / cam timing? I Purchased a manual for the bike on tuesday so hopefully it will be here today. I just put new sprockets/ o-ring chain / tires / graphics on the bike so I am hoping that this problem can be fixed fairly easily and inexpensively. The bike sat in the garage for 10 years until this past spring when I decided to get it going. Other than the usual maintenence stuff I have not done a whole lot to it, as I haven't used it that much. (It is really more of a back-up bike) I usually r