All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums  

Go Back   All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums > Dirt Bike Knowledge Base and Build Threads > General Dirt Bike Knowledge Base

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2002, 09:11 AM
Pro Class

Default Break in procedure

Here is a solid way to break in your new baby. This info is couresy of motoman on www.mototuneusa.com. Here is the link:
http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

Sorry can't post the info here. Too long
Old 01-06-2003, 12:02 AM
Expert Class

Default Re: Break in procedure

Hmmm? I find that hard to believe. I have been riding motorcycles for 32 years, have always done my own maintenance, and back when I lived in Michigan was a state certified master motorcycle mechanic. This goes against conventional wisdom. Whether it is correct or not, I would need quantified data to comfirm or deny.
BUT NOTE, the web site says this is for any 4-STROKE engine, and I can attest that this is not the best way to break in a 2-stroke. Heat cycle 3 times, take it easy for a tank of gas. If you run a 2-stroke hard and fast right away they can seize.
Old 01-06-2003, 01:21 AM
Age is a state of Mind

If you read it again, he doesn't necessarily say to run in WFO, just not to really take it too easy or you won't allow the rings to seat. Makes perfect sense to me, but then again, I'm no mechanic, and I know NOTHING about 2 smokes.
Old 01-06-2003, 03:27 PM
Pro Class

When I was younger and in the mode of I know everything and everyone else is a dumb ***

I started to work for a guy Bob Chaves who pretty much sponcered guys like Dick Mann, Jim Rice and others. In the 60's and 70's he was a player in the industry.

Anyway he taught me some tricks I never have waivered from.

A new bike
1: Drain Oil, clean filter / screens and refill all oils
2: Start the bike and let run just above idle and occaisional Blip
3: Never run past just a blip of the throttle
4: Run it this way until your hand can not stay on the head or cyl