![]() | ![]() |
| | |||||||
Paypal Scam AlertThis is a discussion on Paypal Scam Alert within the General Discussion forum, part of the Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums category; Watch out for this. This is the 3rd e-mail I have received and it is bogus. I have reported it ... |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
#1
| ||||
| ||||
| Watch out for this. This is the 3rd e-mail I have received and it is bogus. I have reported it to paypal and they told me it was not something that came from them and not to click the link. I also did a whois lookup and the root url is listed to a Donna Joseph from shadyville ohio and is hosted by a different provider than paypal. Paypal is hosted by Network Solutions. I followed the link and entered false info. The neat thing is this person has it set up so once you enter your login info (which I'm sure is captured for their later use) it asks you to verify yourself by entering credut card information including your PIN and everything (of course captured) then after that it forwards you to Paypal and sends your login information. This means if you are not paying attention it will take your info then send you to Paypal, log you in and you won't know the difference. The url it sends you to when you click the link in the e-mail that comes is [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] For some reason if you forward it it does not take that link with it but instead sends a true paypal url. Really slick to say the least. It is a slick scam. I'm impressed by the person who put it together. They still need to be boiled in hot water and have firecrackers stuck in their sensitive orifices. Be careful. Ivan --- "service [at] paypal.com" wrote: > Date: Thu, 10 Jun 2004 10:28:07 -0700 > To: truespode [at] yahoo.com > Subject: New email address added to your PayPal > account > From: "service [at] paypal.com" > --------------------------------- You have added laptopseller [at] yahoo.com as a new email address for your PayPal account. If you did not authorize this change or if you need assistance with your account, please contact PayPal customer service at: [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Thank you for using PayPal! The PayPal Team Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the header of any page. ---------------------------------------------------------------- PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and t! yping in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account. ------------------------------------------------! ---------------- PayPal Email ID PP007 |
|
#2
| ||||
| ||||
| Thanks for the info Ivan. This is the first i've heard of the scam. |
|
#3
| ||||
| ||||
| So is it still safe to login at eBay? |
| Sponsored Links |
| |
|
#4
| ||||
| ||||
| PayPal actually sent me a e-mail a couple of days ago warning me of this very thing. I have had them in the past as well. You are fine logging into ebay. |
|
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
| | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| PayPal Question? | mxer120 | General Discussion | 3 | 05-13-2008 10:43 AM |
| PAYPAL QUESTIONS??? | TRXman86 | General Discussion | 9 | 03-24-2008 09:21 PM |
| NEED HELP ASAP!!! Does Cody have.....PAYPAL | TRXman86 | General Discussion | 1 | 04-06-2006 01:02 PM |
| Paypal reminder / warning | JohnLorenz | General Discussion | 10 | 03-15-2006 05:06 PM |
| SCAM ALERT | x.system | Motorcycles & ATV's | 7 | 12-19-2004 07:44 PM |