All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2013, 03:45 PM
ATM! Pro Class

Default Looking at media blasting...

Hey everyone!

So I've been contemplating this for ages!! I seem to have lots to do with bikes and one thing that always annoys me is that I dont have a media blasting setup...

I'm interested to get a decent size blasting box ( for lack of better words ) I mainly want to be able to fit cases, hubs, swing arms etc for blasting...
I'm really new to this in terms of having my own set up at home, small scale . Years ago my dads foundry had sand blasting so I know what it's all about but Id like to get some info on what I need, where to buy certain bits and pieces, idea on how to make a good homemade setup and so on.

Here is what Im thinking:
Compressor-what rating?
Blasting gun-what brands, what gun for various media etc
Media-what types to get-beed/glass/soda etc etc
Blast box- make or buy/ sizes/ does/don't
Extraction setup???
What media for various applications??

I'd hugely appreciate any input pictures too would be great, I'm really not too sure where to start on this one.......I really want to get into this sort of thing as a potential after hours job.

Thanks for any input!!
Old 07-25-2013, 07:51 PM
Intermediate Class

The Eastwood company is en excellent resource. They are also very helpful on the phone
Old 07-25-2013, 08:56 PM
Rockin A class

Eastwood is great or even northern tool. My advise get one with a vacuume set up on it. I use glass and soda.
Old 07-25-2013, 09:19 PM
Expert Class

I do a little blasting of various types. There are lots of choices if you are just getting into it. I'll throw in my $.02 on a couple questions: