All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2011, 10:36 AM
Intermediate Class

Default Hand Fatigue

I am 34 years old and have worked with my hands all my life. I have been a professional carpenter for over 12 years, wrenched for around seven, and now I still work outside with pliers, shovels, pulling rope, etc. i have strong hands and arms due to the labor intensive work I do. However, when i ride I have to back off and rest my hands after 15-30 min., depending on what I am doing, and let the numbness go away. What gives?

Could it be due to just not being used to riding after so many years, but if that was the case my tolerance should build, but no.

Could it be mechanical such as bar setting, suspension, etc.?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

-Bleed
Old 03-26-2011, 01:22 PM
Novice Class

What you may need to do is stretch you hands before you ride, and drink water too.
Old 03-26-2011, 03:16 PM
Intermediate Class

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03 CR125r View Post
What you may need to do is stretch you hands before you ride, and drink water too.
Tried that, just in case it may be a cramping, but there is no pain at all associated with this sensation. Not even a feeling of tingling like when your hand or arm goes to sleep from laying on it. Just numb.
Old 03-26-2011, 06:36 PM
Intermediate Class

Try to not grip the bike so hard with your hands.Your main grip on the bike should be with your knees and legs, (like riding a horse) your hands should not be "white knuckling" the grips. Also try to completely relax your hands when you are in the air.

Last edited by Tuck; 03-26-2011 at 06:50 PM.
Old 03-26-2011, 09:59 PM
ATM! Addict