All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums

Go Back   All Things Moto! Dirtbike Forums > Dirt Bike - ATV - Suspension Forums > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2015, 09:34 PM
Intermediate Class

Default 2 or 4 Stroke to Learn On

Hi Guys,
I have been learning to ride on my 2013 YZ 125 for about 12 months now and I am slowly getting more and more comfortable with the bike.On the weekend a friend of ours with 30 yrs of riding experience saw my bike and basically called me an idiot for trying to learn to ride on a 2t.Now,if the guy had no riding background I would of dismissed his comments,but he reckons I would progress a lot faster on a 4t.I have never ridden a modern 4t M X bike,so comparing them is impossible.but It did get me thinking.........I love riding my YZ,but the whole idea is to improve so I can enter a few C Grade races.Would I be better off on a 4t to get to that level faster ,or should I continue on the 2t.I know this subject has been covered heaps (2t v 4t) but would like some advice from you guys with experience.

Thanks Heaps
Old 02-09-2015, 09:35 AM
Intermediate Class

Anyone who calls you an idiot is not looking out for your best interests. He's simply voicing his opinion. While small bore smokers are not the most forgiving to ride they reward cornering prowess and momentum with good lap times. Watch the fast guys on Saturday night. Cornering speed is unreal. Jumps and all that matter little if you cannot corner.

Not to mention the maintenance costs involved with a 250 4T. A top end on a 250 will buy you 4 top ends on the smoker with a crankshaft thrown in for good measure. How much money is at your disposal?

If you want a four stroke buy one. However if you do it on someone elses word it's the wrong reason. Stay the course is my advice. Do with it what you please.
Old 02-09-2015, 02:31 PM
Intermediate Class